dr naresh trehan Name : Dr. Naresh Trehan

Department: Chairman & Managing Director, Medanta Heart Institute

Speciality: Cardiovascular Surgery

Location: Gurgaon

Nationality: Indian

Language proficiency: English, Hindi

Gender: Male

Primary Place of Work: Medanta The Medicity

Send Enquiry


  • Diplomate, The American Board of Cardiothoracic Surgery, USA 1979
  • Diplomate, The American Board of Surgery, U.S.A. 1977
  • MBBS, K.G. Medical College Lucknow, 1968

Dr. Naresh Trehan’s Profile

The Chairman and Managing Director of Medanta – The Medicity, Dr. Naresh Trehan is a world-renowned cardiovascular and cardiothoracic surgeon. He has been awarded the highly prestigious Padma Bhushan and the Padma Shri by the Government of India. Dr. Trehan has over 48,000 successful open heart surgeries to his credit and is the driving force behind the one-of-its-kind hospital.


  • Ex-President of the International Society for Minimally Invasive Cardiac Surgery
  • Member of Society of Thoracic Surgeons of U.S.A.
  • Member of the Scientific Council of the American College of Angiology U.S.A.
  • Member of Board of Directors of the International Society for Minimally Invasive Cardiac Surgery
  • Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal “Heart Surgery Forum”
  • Council Member of Association of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgeons of Asia
  • Member of The European Association for Cardio-thoracic Surgery
  • Chairman of Confederation of Indian Industries-Healthcare Industry Committee
  • President of Indian Health Care Federation
  • Member of Key Advisory Group of Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India
  • Vice Chairman of Services Export Promotion Council
  • Member of Task Force on Skill Development of XIth Five Year Plan of Planning Commission
  • Member of Governing Council TIFAC
  • Member of Institute Body of Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Member of Governing Council of Sri Jayadeva Institute of Cardiology

Send Enquiry


  • Dr. B. C. Roy National Award, 2005
  • Life Time Achievement Award, 2002
  • FRACS (Hon), 2002
  • AMA Physician’s Recognition Award, 2001
  • Padma Bhushan, 2001
  • Rotary Ratna Award, 1996
  • Rajiv Gandhi National Unity Award, 1995
  • India International Gold Award, 1995
  • Padma Shri, 1991